Thursday, October 20, 2011

GenSan Nanay is Citi Micro entrepreneur of the Year - Maunlad Mindanao Awardee

Nanay Andresa Javines at the fishport in General Santos City
with a cartload of sashimi-grade tuna
ready for packing and sending to the US.

Nanay Andresa Javines, a supplier of tuna packing material  from General Santos City, has been named Maunlad awardee for  Mindanao in the 2011 Citi Micro-entrepreneur of the Year (MOTY) Awards program. Nanay Andresa is a pioneer member of CCT's branch in GenSan. She will travel to Manila to attend the awarding ceremony on November 23 where she will receive a prize of P100,000.00. Aside from the cash, Nanay Andresa will receive three years of life and health insurance coverage, and training on entrepreneurship and financial literacy. The CCT loan officer and the branch office that serve her will also each receive P10,000.00   (To read the original write-up about Nanay Andresa submitted to the awards giving body, please click on

This is the ninth run of the Citi MOTY awards program nationwide search for outstanding Filipino micro entrepreneurs. It is funded by Citi Foundation in  partnership with the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas ( BSP), Citi Philippines and the Microfinance Council of the Philippines, Inc. (MCPI). 

Nanay Andresa is one of eight winners selected from among 15 microentrepreneurs who made it to the final round of this year’s awards program which  was launched in May. The program has two categories:
1) The Masikap Award is open to micro entrepreneurs who successfully started a business that is now a reliable source of  income for the family.  Asset size of the microenterprise under this category must be less than PhP300,000.
2) The Maunlad Award is open to microentrepreneurs that have grown their business to a level that is now generating employment for people apart from household or family members.  Asset size of the microenterprise under this category must be between PhP 300,000 to PhP 1 million.

Aside from Nanay Andresa, CCT submitted the names of and requirements for  two other nominees: Tatay Francisco Carton, a sand quarryer from Leganes, Iloilo, and Nanay Delia Delin, a  de-boner and seller of bangus from Dagupan, Pangasinan. 

After Nanay Andresa made it to the semi-finals a review committee did a video interview of her in GenSan.  The set of semi-finalists was trimmed down to 15, and then to eight winners – one Masikap national awardee, three Masikap awardees for Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao, one Maunlad national awardee, and three Maunlad awardees for Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. The national awardees are to receive prizes of P200,000.00 each aside from the life and health insurance, and training scholarship received by all the winners.

BSP Governor Amando Tetangco and Citi Country Officer for the Philippines Sanjiv Vohra served as co-chairpersons of the National Selection Committee that determined this year’s winners.  Other members of the  committee included print, academe, and industry leaders such as former Monetary Board member Antonino Alindogan, Jr., Ayala Corporation President and COO Fernando Zobel de Ayala, RFM Corporation President and CEO Jose Concepcion III, GMA Network Chairman Atty. Felipe Gozon, Phil. Daily Inquirer chairperson Marixi Prieto, Entrepreneurs School of Asia president Vivienne Tan, and Ateneo de Manila University Professor Dr. Darwin Yu.

No comments:

Post a Comment